Skip to main content

Watershed Sciences Department and Ecology Center Seminars


January

Wednesday, Jan 10 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 WATS Department Seminar - Dr. Peter Wilcock and Brian Bailey  Graduate Student Questions and Answers
Wednesday, Thursday Jan 17/18 Wednesday, 6:00 pm, BNR 102 - Thursday, 4:00 pm, WIDT 007 Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Richard Reading, Fulbright Scholar, University of Botswanna, Conservation Scientist Wednesday: "From 'Paper to Park'  to Model Protected Area: Ikh Nart Nature Reserve, Mongolia"
Thursday: "African Vulture Crisis"
Wednesday, Jan 24 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 WATS Department Seminar - Dr. Steve Young, Dept. of Plant, Soils, and Climate, Utah State University "Ecosystems and invasive plants: implications for ecology and management"
Wednesday, Jan 31 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 WATS Department Seminar - Dr. Belize Lane, Utah Water Research Laboratory, Utah State University "Functional Flows: Integrating ecology and engineering for sustainable river basins."

February

Wednesday, Feb 7 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 WATS Department Seminar - Dr. Hamish Greig, Assistant Professor of Stream Ecology, The University of Maine  "Community and ecosystem consequences of species range shifts"
Wednesday, Thursday, Feb 14/15 Wednesday, 6:00 pm, BNR 102 - Thursday, 4:00 pm, WIDT 007 Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Elizabeth Leger, Professor, University of Nevada, Reno  
Wednesday, Feb 21 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 Dr. Charles Yackulic, Grand Canyon Monitoring and Research Center, U.S. Geological Survey "Drivers of the aquatic ecosystem in the Grand Canyon - the relative importance of flows, biotic interactions, temperature and nutrients"
Wednesday, Feb 28 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 WATS Department Seminar - Dr. John Pitlick, Professor of Geography, University of Colorado, Boulder  "Modeling Decadal Trends in Sediment Through Critical Habitat Reaches of the Colorado River"

March

Wednesday, Mar 7 Spring Break - No Seminar    
Wednesday, Thursday Mar 14/15 Wednesday, 6:00 pm, BNR 102 - Thursday, 4:00 pm, WIDT 007 Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Meghan Duffy, Associate Professor, University of Michigan  
Wednesday, Mar 21 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 WATS Department Seminar - Dr. John Smol, Professor, Department of Biology, Queen's University, Ontario, Canada "Lakes in the Anthropocene: Using the past to better plan for the future"
Wednesday, Mar 28 Spring Runoff Conference    

April

Wednesday, Apr 4 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 WATS Department Seminar - Paul Thompson, Northern Region Aquatics Manager, Utah Division of Wildlife Resources "The Weber River Partnership: How fish became relevant in the Weber River"
Friday, Apr 13 WATS Graduate Symposium  No Department Seminar this week  
Wednesday, Thursday Apr 18/19 Wednesday, 6:00 pm, BNR 102 - Thursday, 4:00 pm, WIDT 007 Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Corinna Riginos, Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Wyoming  
Wednesday, Apr 25 Wednesday, 12:30 pm, NR 105 WATS Department Seminar - Dr. Ben Letcher, Section Leader, USGS Leetown Science Center