Skip to main content

WATS/Ecology Center Spring Seminar Schedule


January

       
Wednesday, Jan 11 12:30 pm, NR 105 Graduate Students - Question and Answers Forum
Dr. Peter Wilcock and Brian Bailey
Wednesday, Jan 18/
Thursday, Jan 19
6:00 pm, BNR 102/
4:00 pm, WIDT 007
Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Daniel Schindler University of Washington, Seattle, WA
Professor, Department of Biology
Wednesday, Jan 25 12:30 pm, NR 105 Dr. Jack Schmidt, Utah State University, Watershed Sciences Department  "Lake Powell and Lake Mead: Do we need both?" - Utah State University, Professor, Watershed Sciences Department

February

     
 Wednesday, Feb 1 12:30 pm, NR 105 Dr. Jaimie Goode, Fluvial Geomorphologist, University of Idaho, Center for Ecohydraulics Research "Smoked Salmon? Potential effects of climate change and wildfire on aquatic habitat in mountain basins"
 Wednesday, Feb 8 12:30 pm, NR 105 Dr. Charles Hawkins, Utah State University, Watershed Sciences Department "Beyond site-specific audits of stream biological integrity: the need to quantify regional alterations in biodiversity and identify their causes"
Wednesday, Feb 15 12:30 pm, NR 105 Kendrick Hafen, Attorney, Water Law, President, Kendrick J. Hafen, PC.  "Utah's Water Regulatory agencies in the Context of the Hydrologic Cycle"
Wednesday, Feb 22/ 
Thursday, Feb 23
6:00 pm, BNR 102/
4:00 pm, WIDT 007
Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Nate Stephenson USGS, Three Rivers, CA, Research Ecologist

March

 Wednesday, March 1 6:00 pm, BNR 102/
4:00 pm, WIDT 007
Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Diana Wall Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, Professor, Dept of Biology, Director, School of Global Environmental Sustainability
Wednesday, March 8   SPRING BREAK - No Seminar
 
Wednesday, March 15 12:30 pm, NR 105 Dr. Johnnie Moore "Using Closed-basin Lakes to Determine Late Pleistocene Climate of the Great Basin" University of Montana, Adjunct Professor, Watershed Sciences Department
Wednesday, March 22 12:30 pm, NR 105 Dr. Max Bothwell  "The Didymo Story: The role of dissolved phosphorus in the formation of Didymosphenia geminata blooms" Pacific Biological Station, Emeritus Faculty, Nanaimo, British Columbia
Tuesday and Wednesday, March 28-29 Eccles Conference Center Spring Runoff Conference  

April

Wednesday, April 5/ 
Thursday, April 6
6:00 pm, BNR 102/
4:00 pm, WIDT 007
Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Doug McCauley University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, Assistant Professor, Ecology, Evolotion and Marine Biology
Wednesday, April 12 12:30 pm, NR 105 Dr. McKenzie Skiles  "Constraining physical understanding of accelerated mountain snowmelt" Assistant Professor, Department of Earth Science, Utah Valley University
Wednesday, April 19/
Thursday, April 20
4:00 pm, FAV 150 Ecology Center Seminar - Dr. Michelle Marvier Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, CA, Professor, Environmental Studies and Science
Wednesday, April 26 12:30 pm, NR 105 Dr. Laura Reynolds "Genetic Diversity and Population Structure of Marine Plants: Ecological Consequences and Implications for Restoration" Assistant Professor, Coastal Ecology, Soil and Water Sciences Department, University of Florida
Wednesday, May 3   FINALS WEEK - No Seminar