Skip to main content

WILD/Ecology Center - Spring 2018 Seminar Schedule


January 2018

Wednesday, Jan 10 4:00pm
NR 105
Joey Pettit
(USU - Wildland Resources Department)
Forest structure and roost choices of an endangered bat
Wednesday, Jan 17/
Thursday, Jan 18
6:00pm ENGR 106
4:00pm ENGR 106
Richard Reading
(University of Botswanna)
Ecology Center Seminar

From "Paper Park" to Model Protected Area: Ihk Nart Nature Reserve, Mongolia
*Watch the video
African Vulture Crisis
*Watch the video
Wednesday, Jan 24 4:00pm
NR 105
Will Pearse
(USU - Biology Department)
New methods for old questions: integrating evolution and community ecology

Wednesday, Jan 31 4:00pm
NR 105
Tom Edwards
(USU - Wildland Resources Department)
The Dilemma of Spatial Optimization in Conservation Environments: What if No Working-World Solution Exists?

February 2018

Wednesday, Feb 7 4:00pm
NR 105
Juan Lorite
(University of Granada - Spain)

Restoration of degraded gypsum habitats in Spain
Wednesday, Feb 14/
Thursday, Feb 15
6:00pm BNR 102
4:00pm WIDT 007
Elizabeth Leger
(University of Nevada, Reno)
Ecology Center Seminar - TBA
*Watch the video
Wednesday, Feb 21 4:00pm
NR 105
Mitch Power
(University of Utah)
Climate and Wildfires in the Uinta Mountains since the Last Ice Age
Wednesday, Feb 28 4:00pm
NR 105
Noelle Beckman
(USU - Biology Department)

Extinction risk of plant species under global change

March 2018

Wednesday, Mar 7 N/A Spring Break No seminar this week.
Wednesday, Mar 14/
Thursday, Mar 15
6:00pm ENGR 106
4:00pm ENGR 106
Meghan Duffy
(University of Michigan)
Ecology Center Seminar - TBA
*Watch the video HERE
Wednesday, Mar 21 4:00pm
NR 105
Sarah Benson-Amram
(University of Wyoming)
Social and ecological influences on problem-solving abilities
Wednesday, Mar 28 4:00pm
NR 105
Heather Root
(Weber State University)
TBA

April 2018

Wednesday, Apr 4 N/A NR Week No seminar this week.
Wednesday, Apr 11

4:00pm
NR 105
Ben Naolski (Utah DWR) &
Marty Bushman (Utah Attorney General's Office)
The Role of Politics and Ideology in Science
Wednesday, Apr 18/
Thursday, Apr 19
4:00pm BNR 102
3:00pm FAV 150
Corinna Riginos
(University of Wyoming)
Ecology Center Seminar - TBA
*Watch the video HERE
Wednesday, Apr 25 4:00pm
NR 105
Larissa Bailey
(Colorado State University)
TBA